Assess Well Beyond The Confines Of The New Curriculum

The new National Curriculum may encourage schools to focus exclusively on whether pupils are acquiring knowledge over general and transferable skills. You will be able to use Climbing Frames to assess well beyond these criteria and ensure that progress is inclusive.


As well as supporting the NAHT’s advice on sound assessment, the app has unique Pre-Levels and thinking and learning frames that will help you underpin the assessment of progress of every child. We strongly believe that a child’s ability to gain new knowledge is driven by their ability to acquire deeper understanding and think creatively and critically as they carry out their work.


Support Pupils Working Below The National Curriculum


The mammoth changes to assessment in schools have ignored P-levels entirely. Even though this was one part of the assessment system that everyone agreed needed an overhaul. The Climbing Frames app has a unique aligned, simplified set of five Pre-levels that are included in each subject’s assessment frame.


The Pre-Levels cover everyone from those with profound learning difficulties to those who are approaching the first stage of National Curriculum objectives. Unlike P-levels, they are built around five stages of development rather than numbers: experiential, responsive, interactive, then a stage of engagement followed by a stage of early insight in which the pupil edges into abstract and symbolic learning.


Support Thinking And Learning


You are able to use the app’s unique Thinking and Learning frames to ensure each pupil’s cognitive development is mapped alongside their progress through the yearly objectives, as laid down in the new curriculum. You can use these frames to build a strong, child-based account of learning capabilities. This in turn will help you to drive improvements in teaching and learning.


Like the subjects, these thinking and learning frames are arranged to cover all nine years of the National Curriculum, plus five Pre-Levels, for pupils currently working below National Curriculum objectives. They are tied to the priorities of the new curriculum.  They address:


  1. Seeking and keeping ideas
  2. Thinking critically
  3. Working with others
  4. Using reflection and feedback loops
  5. Solving problems
  6. Flexing the imagination
  7. Building models and theories
  8. Thinking for the future


Each of these is referenced to National Curriculum objectives for each year to show where the principal opportunities lie for teaching and monitoring them. Like the subject frames, these assessments can be collated to give senior managers a profile of learning behaviour in the school and an agenda for improvement.


These thinking and learning objectives are connected to relevant guidance in the Best Practice Library – a dedicated bank of articles and training materials. This resource will enable schools to strengthen teaching where assessments show that learning is under-developed.


Using the Thinking and Learning frames means that the school can continue to map how children are progressing through the process of learning, as well as how well they are moving through subject knowledge. By measuring this progress teachers can better plan lessons that will help their pupils to deeply embed their learning, so that they can reflect on their own learning and transfer this knowledge across different contexts.